Our "new look" Industry Awards have been refined and refreshed to meet the needs of the Industry, and to ensure the Design Awards are maintained as a contemporary and prestigious event.

The New Zealand Plastics Industry Design Awards showcases the best the Industry has to offer. It demonstrates the high level of expertise and innovation held by the New Zealand based entrants.

The Awards will continue to display the excellence in product and process development that characterises the New Zealand plastics industry and allows us to remain competitive in the global market. Gold and Highly Commended Awards will be presented in each category. The much coveted Plastics New Zealand Supreme Award will be selected from entrants across all categories.

The Awards Entries

As part of the refresh we have introduced two new Awards:

Best Supplier Partnership is for suppliers of materials or services who have provided an innovative solution and worked proactively in partnership with a manufacturer/ brand owner on a product or process development project.

Research and New Innovation Award is for new innovations in plastic materials and compounds (including biopolymers), plastics processing technology or allied equipment that advances the plastic industry.

There are now four Product Categories (including the Best Environmental Product). We have combined our process categories into the Best Manufacturing Process & Execution Award. This is focused on the entrant demonstrating how they have used sound development processes and applied innovative design for manufacturing thinking to optimise manufacturing, assembly (where applicable) and logistics to achieve best cost, quality, reliability, time-to-market and customer satisfaction.

The Design Awards entries closed on the 15th October 2018. 

View our Design Awards finalists here

Presentation of the Awards

Ravago logo rgb 72dpiPlastics New Zealand will soon celebrate our 75th Anniversary. In order to maximise the PR opportunities for entrants, we will be taking the opportunity to present the Design Awards at the key celebratory Gala Dinner held as part of our 75th Annual Conference in Queenstown from the 16-17th May 2019.

We are also please to announce that Ravago NZ Ltd have come aboard as the Industry Design Awards Principal Sponsor   


Register Now to attend the 75th Anniversary Conference & Industry Design Awards Gala Evening - 16th & 17th May 2019, Queenstown, New Zealand

You can register to attend the whole conference or just for the Design Awards Gala Evening.

Friday 17th May 2019 - Millennium Hotel Ballroom, Queenstown
MC - Dr Michelle Dickinson (MNZM)
Dress Code: Black Tie

5.30pm   Predinner Drinks
6.00pm   75th Anniversary Photo Call
6.30pm   Seat for Dinner
6.35pm   Welcome & Industry Presentations
7.00pm   Dinner
8.00pm   Design Awards Announcements & Presentations
9.00pm   Live Dance Band - LA Social
12.00am Close of Evening